Department of Communications and Public Affairs

Published on Monday, March 12, 2018


Fifth Exhibition Opening

CONTACT: Teresa Vasquez-Romero, 210-207-8761

SAN ANTONIO (March 12, 2018)- In celebration of San Antonio’s Tricentennial year, six downtown artist-centric organizations: Artpace San Antonio, Blue Star Contemporary, Carver Community Cultural Center, the Guadalupe Cultural Arts Center, the Mexican Cultural Institute, and the Southwest School of Art, have partnered to present an exhibition that will illuminate the 300 years of their hometown’s history.

Drawing on the connections or currents that run through San Antonio’s vibrant creative community, each of the organizing partners began by inviting two artists. These initial artists were then asked to invite two peer artists, until more than 300 were amassed. All of the participating artists are assigned one year of San Antonio’s history to reflect on in the development of their work for Common Currents. This exhibition is presented chronologically through a variety of contemporary media across the six venues.

The Carver invites you to the fifth exhibition opening, exhibiting works of artists inspired by San Antonio during the years of 1918-1967, Thursday, March 15, 6-8 p.m., Jo Long Theatre, 226 N. Hackberry.

Artists exhibiting at The Carver include: Sabrina Alfaro, David Almaguer, John Atkins, Scott Ball, Rolando Briseño, Carmen Cartiness Johnson, John A. Coleman, Scott Cooper, Creative Essentials, Agosto Cuellar, Alex Diaz, Betsy Dudley, Audrya Flores, Anthony Francis, Cassiday Frits, Antonio Garcia, Ethan Gonzalez, Roberto J. Gonzalez, Evan Guerrero, Dan Guerrero, Brittany Ham, Gloria Hart, Jennifer Khoshbin, Marilyn Lanfear, Kenneth Lantz, Cosby Lindquist, Angelica Mayorga, Roxi McCloskey Morris, Ashley Mireles, Paul Niendorff, Robert Pecina, Jr., Goethe David Pontón, Jessica Ramirez, Andrei Renteria, Riley Robinson, A.J. Rodriguez, Andrea Sanderson, Chris Sauter, Alex Scheel, Lourdes Sosa Espinoza, Russel Stephenson, Hiromi Stringer, Christopher Suniga, Ingrid Tegner, Luis Valderas, Jorge Villarreal and Doerte Weber.

Visit for more information.

Number of views (318)